SoA to administer Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.

The SoA will be administering the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction from 2017. We are delighted to announce this fantastic addition to our portfolio of prizes.

Paula Johnson, Awards Secretary, said:

“We are proud and excited to be the new administrators of this exceptional award, celebrating excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women and we greatly look forward to our involvement in running and supporting it.”

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction (BWPFF) is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman.  Any woman writing in English – whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter – is eligible.


Entries open 7 September

The Society of Authors will be contacting publishers and inviting entries for the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction from Wednesday 7 September – the deadline for all submissions is 5pm Friday 23 September 2016.

For more information email [email protected] or 


Longlist to be reduced from 20 to 12 titles

From the 2017 the number of books on the longlist will be reduced from 20 to 12. Managing Director of BWPFF Harriet Hastings said:

“’Having taken soundings from the trade, the board decided we could give greater focus and increased marketing support to a smaller number of titles and enhance the visibility of the list as a whole.


Poetry and Spoken Word Group seeks new committee members

25 January 2023

Join our growing local network

25 January 2023

2022 ALCS Educational Writers’ Award

23 January 2023