Longlist for 2017 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Awards

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.

The longlist includes international bestselling author Bret Anthony Johnson, Man Asian Literary Prize longlister Anjali Joseph and winner of last year’s Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Lisa McInerney.

The 2017 Sunday Times EFG Award winner will receive £30,000.

This year’s longlist has international reach with authors including Anjali Joseph (Bombay), Kevin Wilson (Nashville), Sally Rooney (Republic of Ireland), Betty Trask winner Anjali Joseph, as well as UK writers Daisy Johnson and Richard Lambert.

The 14 longlisted writers and the titles of their short stories are:

  • Reputation Management by Kathleen Alcott
  • Half of What Atlee Rouse Knows About Horses by Bret Anthony Johnson
  • The Trouble by Smith Henderson
  • Back to Bones by Christine Hickey
  • Blood Rites by Daisy Johnson
  • Everlasting Lucifer by Anjali Joseph
  • The Hazel Twig and the Olive Tree by Richard Lambert
  • The Tenant by Victor Lodato
  • Mistress Mickle All At Sea by Elizabeth McCracken
  • Navigation by Lisa McInerney
  • Every Little Thing by Celeste Ng
  • The Sun by Ethel Rohan
  • Mr Salary by Sally Rooney
  • Door to Door by Kevin Wilson

The winner will receive £30,000, and the five other shortlisted writers will each receive £1,000. The shortlist announced in The Sunday Times on 19 March. The winner will be announced at a gala dinner hosted by EFG at Stationers’ Hall in London on Thursday 27 April. You can read the longlisted stories on the Sunday Times website

This year’s judges are Anne Enright, Rose Tremain, Mark Lawson and Neel Mukherjee. Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor of The Sunday Times, completes the line-up.



The Award accepts entries of 6,000 words or under published in English from fiction authors from anywhere in the world who have been published in the UK or Ireland. The Award reflects The Sunday Times’ support for outstanding writing and the rich literary heritage of the newspaper, and the ongoing commitment of EFG, a leading international private bank, to the literary world. It is the Society of Authors first year of managing the prize.

For full details of the Award visit www.shortstoryaward.co.uk/

Keep up-to-date with the Award:

Twitter – @ShortStoryAward

Facebook: Sunday-Times-EFG-Short-Story-Award


Key Dates

  • Sunday 19 March 2017 – Shortlist announced
  • Thursday 27 April 2017 – Winner announced

The next Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award will be presented in 2018.

24 May 2023

Celebrating the gamut of prose, poetry and children’s literature, across 11 awards, including the inaugural ADCI (Authors with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses) Literary Prize shortlist

11 May 2023

Celebrated crime writer announced as keynote speaker for annual Society of Authors’ Awards ceremony on 29 June

10 May 2023

Following a vote by authors in Wales, we welcome Cath Barton and Aaron Kent to the SoAiW steering committee. We thank outgoing committee member Alison Layland for all her hard work