First call for candidates for Management Committee Elections

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.

*Update: nominations are now closed.*

We are now inviting nominations for Members to serve on our voluntary board of directors, who guide the SoA’s campaigns and oversee the work we do on behalf of nearly 10,000 authors.

Nominations must be received by 30 June and successful candidates will commence their term in November 2017 after the AGM. Read more

The SoA is committed to being an inclusive organisation. To further this end the Management Committee would particularly welcome younger candidates, BAME candidates and candidates from other currently under-represented groups.

Former Committee member, Sarah Waters, said of her MC experience: 

Everyone is there for the same reason: because they care about authors’ rights and want to do all they can to protect and consolidate them.

About the Management Committee

The Management Committee is responsible for leading and governing the SoA. It works as a team to make decisions, and has ultimate responsibility for the SoA. It takes all major policy and strategy decisions, while the administration of the SoA and the day-to-day running of the office lie with the Chief Executive, Nicola Solomon, and the staff.

The 12 members serve a term of three years and are unpaid volunteers (expenses reimbursed). You can read more about the structure and duties of the MC here and read about the current MC here.

There will be four vacancies on the Management Committee from the AGM in November. Leaving the Committee, having served their three-year terms, will be Peter Groves and Lucinda Hawksley (William Horwood having stepped down earlier for personal reasons). David Donachie will remain until January 2018 in his capacity as Chair of the Management Committee. Remaining members will be Eric Clark, Daniel Hahn, Joanne Harris, Alex Klaushofer, Janet Laurence, Carol Lee, Charles Palliser and Celia Rees.

How to stand

If you want to stand, please apply in writing by 30 June, providing supporting letters signed by two Members of the SoA. You can use this online form to do so.

You may submit an election statement (of up to 500 words), with a photograph. The statements will be posted on this website. Candidates must have been Members (not Associates) of the SoA for at least three months. If you have previously served on the Management Committee for two consecutive terms, you may not stand again unless a period of one year has elapsed. Read more about eligibility for candidacy and how to nominate a Member here.

If the number of candidates received exceeds the number of places to be filled, a postal ballot will be held in the summer and the ballot papers and election statements of all candidates will be sent out with the autumn edition of The Author.

Successful candidates will commence their term from after the AGM in November 2017.
If you have any questions, please contact the Chief Executive, Nicola Solomon, or the Chair of the Management Committee, David Donachie.



26 September 2023

We respond to the publication by The Atlantic of a list of pirated books used to ‘train’ artificial intelligence

7 September 2023

‘The Society of Authors Advisory Clinic’ releases the first episode of its second series on Monday 11 September. New season to include contracts, estates, audio drama and more

1 September 2023

In solidarity with striking writers and performers in the US