Picador, OUP and Jenny Brown Associates offer 1-2-1 sessions to authors at ScotsWrite

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.

11 September 2017

The Society of Authors in Scotland has arranged for agents Jenny Brown (Jenny Brown Associates), Louise Lamont (LBA) and Philip Patterson (Marjacq Scripts); and commissioning editors Lori Herber (Editor, Bastei Lübbe), Francesca Main (Publishing Director, Picador) and Clare Whitston (Senior Commissioning Editor, Children’s, OUP) to hold individual meetings with delegates at the 2017 ScotsWrite weekend conference.

Bookings for the conference will soon close, and session registration for those who have booked will open soon.

Delegates will also be able to sign up for breakout sessions with publishers, agents and editors including Sam Eades (Trapeze) and John Jarrold (John Jarrold Literary Agency); experienced authors including Joanne Harris, Daniel Hahn, Charlie Higson, Jane Johnson, Joanna Penn and Duane Swierczynski; and other experts on a range of topics.

Included talks and workshops cover writing for adults and children, editing, graphic novels, poetry and broadcasting, as well as practical sessions on ergonomics, mental wellbeing and effective use of writing software package Scrivener. Francesca Main and author Al Guthrie will be running ‘The Commissioning Process: Behind The Scenes’, exploring the inner workings of publishers’ editorial departments.

Joanne Harris, John Jarrold and Sam Eades will hold an hour-long debate, ‘What to expect from one another’, to hash out the changing dynamics between authors, agents and editors. Daniel Hahn and Ruth Martin will run the breakout ‘Exactly the same book, except for all the words’, exploring different perspectives on the process of translating a book.

Sessions are likely to fill up quickly once registration opens, and places will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

Full programme and booking information

Go straight to bookings

24 May 2023

Celebrating the gamut of prose, poetry and children’s literature, across 11 awards, including the inaugural ADCI (Authors with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses) Literary Prize shortlist

11 May 2023

Celebrated crime writer announced as keynote speaker for annual Society of Authors’ Awards ceremony on 29 June

10 May 2023

Following a vote by authors in Wales, we welcome Cath Barton and Aaron Kent to the SoAiW steering committee. We thank outgoing committee member Alison Layland for all her hard work