Your views needed: PLR increase

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.

The 2018 rate of PLR, recommended by the British Library Board, is 8.2 pence per loan, an increase of .38 pence over last year.

Sadly, the proposed increase is not because the government is increasing funding but because library cuts mean that the estimated number of PLR-registered loans has decreased.

The Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS) is seeking authors’ views on the matter. The SoA accepts the new rate, but we have the following three recommendations:

  1. PLR continues to be an important source of earnings for authors. We urge the government to ring-fence and increase the (already meagre) PLR fund in any future spending review.
  2. The decreased estimate for PLR-registered loans is disheartening, doubtless caused by cuts to library services and exclusion of some volunteer-run libraries from PLR. We urge the government to include volunteer-run libraries in PLR.
  3. The library service is under serious threat. We urge the Government to fulfil its obligation to provide, protect and maintain a comprehensive and efficient library service.

That said, we are very pleased to note that the government included in the Digital Economy Bill a clear solution to extend PLR to ebooks and audiobooks.

Read the DCMS announcement.

Let the government know your views on the matter by emailing [email protected], or by writing to:

4th Floor
Parliament Street
London SW1A 2BQ

24 May 2023

Celebrating the gamut of prose, poetry and children’s literature, across 11 awards, including the inaugural ADCI (Authors with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses) Literary Prize shortlist

11 May 2023

Celebrated crime writer announced as keynote speaker for annual Society of Authors’ Awards ceremony on 29 June

10 May 2023

Following a vote by authors in Wales, we welcome Cath Barton and Aaron Kent to the SoAiW steering committee. We thank outgoing committee member Alison Layland for all her hard work