New members elected to SoA’s Management Committee

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.

Abie Longstaff, Joanne Harris (re-elected), Simon Cann and Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin have been elected to join the SoA’s Management Committee after the AGM on 21 November when Carol Lee, Joanne Harris (who has been re-elected for a further three years), Charles Palliser and Celia Rees complete their three-year terms.

Earlier this year members were invited to stand or propose fellow members to stand for election to the Management Committee to fill the four vacancies. Management Committee members serve a term of three years and are responsible for the strategic direction of the SoA.

Eight candidates were nominated to fill the four vacancies, with four candidates duly elected to join the Committee in November 2019. The successful candidates are:

  • Abie Longstaff – children’s writer, author, previously lawyer and barrister.
  • Joanne Harris – author, activist, scriptwriter, speaker, board member of ALCS.
  • Simon Cann – author, previously management consultant for global consulting firm.
  • Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin – crime writer, literary agent, founder of

The full report from the election scrutineer setting out numbers of votes cast can be found below.

Read the candidates’ election statements here

The members on the Management Committee for 2019/2020 will be: Simon Cann, Sam Collett, Ferdinand Dennis, David Donachie (Chair), Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin, Joanne Harris, Mary Hoffman, Abie Longstaff, Woodrow Phoenix, Katharine Quarmby, Hugh Roberts and Philip Womack.

Tim Tate steps down from SoA board

21 November 2022

AGM 2022 — Resolutions and next steps

17 November 2022

Evans, Fox O’Loughlin, Longstaff and Rankin elected to Society of Authors’ Board

31 October 2022