Nominations open for SoA Management Committee elections

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.
We warmly invite Society of Authors members to stand, or to propose fellow members to stand, for election to the Management Committee. Any full member (not associate member) is eligible.

There will be four vacancies after the AGM in November at which time David Donachie Ferdinand Dennis, Mary Hoffman and Philip Womack complete their three-year terms. (Retiring Committee members may choose to stand for a second term of office.)

Remaining Committee members will be Joanne Harris (Chair), Simon Cann, Samantha Collett, Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin, Abie Longstaff, Woodrow Phoenix, Katharine Quarmby and Hugh Roberts. The Management Committee is responsible for the direction of the SoA and makes all major policy and strategy decisions.

We are committed to being an inclusive and diverse organisation. If you are enthusiastic, imaginative and practical we invite you to stand, whatever your background or specialism. We particularly encourage nominations from members with skills/experience currently underrepresented on the Committee.

Nominations must be made by 15 July 2020. Submit a nomination here and find out more about the responsibilities of Management Committee members.

24 May 2023

Celebrating the gamut of prose, poetry and children’s literature, across 11 awards, including the inaugural ADCI (Authors with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses) Literary Prize shortlist

11 May 2023

Celebrated crime writer announced as keynote speaker for annual Society of Authors’ Awards ceremony on 29 June

10 May 2023

Following a vote by authors in Wales, we welcome Cath Barton and Aaron Kent to the SoAiW steering committee. We thank outgoing committee member Alison Layland for all her hard work