Call for entries – Audio Drama Awards 2022

Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.
Entries are now open for two of the BBC Audio Drama Awards – the Imison and Tinniswood – celebrated annually and administered by the Society of Authors.

Help us continue to celebrate the best audio drama by sending in your entries for 2022. To be eligible, scripts will have to have been broadcast or made available online in the UK between 1 October 2020 and 31 October 2021.

Last year’s winners include Fraser Ayres for the 2021 Imison Award with his radio play Maynard (produced by Mel Harris – Sparklab Productions, BBC Radio 4) and Christopher Douglas (Tinniswood Award) for Tristram Shandy (Produced by Gary Brown – BBC Radio Drama North, BBC Radio 4) who celebrated at the virtual BBC Audio Drama Awards held in March 2021.

Please apply here with all supporting materials by Sunday 3 October 2021.

Imison Award – £3,000

Best original script by a writer new to audio drama with the £3,000 prize sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society and the Peggy Ramsay Foundation. The 2022 judges are Committee members of the Society of Authors Scriptwriters Group: Barney Norris, Jamila Gavin, David Morley, Ian Billings, Sean Grundy, Rhiannon Tise and Ben Carpenter.

Tinniswood Award – £3,000

Best original script of the year with the £3,000 prize sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS). The 2022 judges are yet to be confirmed.

With thanks to:

The Peggy Ramsay Foundation seeks to perpetuate Peggy Ramsay’s ideals, by directly helping dramatists at very different stages of experience in ways which it is determined to keep as quick and unbureaucratic as possible.

The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) is a not-for-profit organisation started by writers for the benefit of all types of writers. Owned by its members, ALCS collects money due for secondary uses of writers’ work. It is designed to support authors and their creativity, to ensure they receive fair payment and see their rights are respected. It promotes and teaches the principles of copyright and campaigns for a fair deal. It represents over 110,000 members, and since 1977 has paid around £500 million to writers (

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) is a trade union representing professional writers in TV, film, theatre, radio, books, comedy, poetry, animation and videogames.

“Raising the profile of DCI authors” – 2023 SoA Awards judges announced

24 November 2022

New SoA fiction prize encourages positive representation of disability in literature

10 June 2022

Graphic novel wins at the 2022 Society of Authors’ Awards

1 June 2022