SoA members recognised in 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours list

Left to right: Daljit Nagra © Adrian Pope, Joanne Harris © Kyte Photography, and Ian Rankin
Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.
Joanne Harris, Daljit Nagra and Ian Rankin among those named in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

We were delighted to see SoA members recognised in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

A special congratulations to SoA Council member and chair of the Management Committee  Joanne Harris, who has received an OBE for services to literature. Joanne does so much for the SoA and we are hugely grateful.

Three other SoA council members have also been recognised. Poets Gwyneth Lewis and Daljit Nagra have both received an MBE for services to literature. Gwyneth has been very involved in the SoA Wales group and is one of our Eric Gregory Awards judges. Daljit is the Chair of the Royal Society of Literature and did wonderful work as an Emergency Fund assessor during the pandemic. Constant supporter Ian Rankin has received a knighthood for services to literature and to charity.

SoA member, illustrator and author Michael Foreman has also received an OBE for services to literature.

Congratulations and thanks to all these members for their great service to the SoA and to literature.

We also congratulate authors Sir Salman Rushdie and Marina Warner CBE, and illustrator Sir Quentin Blake who were all named Companions of Honour for literature and illustration.

Matthew Littleford, chair of the Reading Agency, on receiving an MBE for services to literature. Sandeep Mahal, former Director of Nottingham UNESCO City of Literature has received an MBE for services to Literature, the Arts and Culture in Nottingham.

Our congratulations also go to European Writers Council (EWC) President Nina George, who has been awarded the Federal Cross of Merit on Ribbon of the Federal Republic of Germany for her ten-year voluntary commitment in the service of authors in the book sector. Nina does so much for all authors across Europe.