New Year Honours List

Teddy McDonald

Teddy McDonald

Teddy works on SoA communications and outreach and alongside the Policy department on the SoA's campaigns work. He is also co-coordinator of the Children’s Writers and Illustrators Group (CWIG).

Congratulations to all our members who were recognised in the 2023 New Year Honours List. Francesca Simon was recognised for services to literature and Christopher Byrant, Johanna Dodd, Katherine Faulkner, Professor Sir Michael Marmot and Helena Whitbread were recognised for other services. Special congratulations go to Dara McAnulty, who was the youngest person on this year’s list at the age of 18, recognised for services to the environment and to people with Autism Spectrum Disorder.

We also congratulate all the other writers who made the list. Roland Keating was recognised for services to literature, and Dame Hermione Lee for services to English literature.

Several writers were awarded for their positive social impact this year. Among them, Jessie Smith was recognised for services to the Scottish traveller community; Molly Watts, for services to literature during Covid-19; and the Reverend Jason Young, for services to cultural heritage and public awareness of Black British History through the Creative Arts. Writer and artist Grayson Perry was also among those recognised, for his services to the Arts.

The New Year Honours list recognises the achievements of a wide range of extraordinary people across the UK.

Click here for the full list of honours

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
We'd love to hear from you. Please comment.x