Catch up on the 2023 SoA Awards

All the 2023 SoA Awards winners © Adrian Pope
Martin Reed

Martin Reed

Martin leads the SoA's Communications team. He oversees our strategic communications and campaign-based activities, including PR, social media, events and partnerships.
Thank you for helping us celebrate the 2023 SoA Awards

On Thursday 29 June hundreds of SoA members joined us for the 2023 SoA Awards and Summer Party to celebrate fiction, poetry and children’s literature.

Joanne Harris hosted the event, welcoming more than 300 guests in-person to Southwark Cathedral and many more online. Following Val McDermid’s inspiring keynote on the importance of prizes and the reality of the author experience in 2023, we shared more than £100,000 in prizes with over 30 writers, poets and illustrators. The prizegiving included the inaugural Authors with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses (ADCI) Literary Prize, which encourages greater positive representation of disability in literature.

Many thanks to everyone who joined us on the day – in-venue or online – for helping to make the evening so special.

Speeches and prizegiving

The speeches and prizegiving were streamed live to an international audience.

Meet some of the 2023 winners

Somerset Maugham Award winner Travis Alabanza, Cholmondeley Award winner Tamar Yoseloff, Travelling Scholarship winner Jen Stout and Paul Torday Memorial Prize winner Bonnie Garmus shared their thoughts with us on the night.

There’s so many different people that go into making a book, and I feel like awards give a really nice chance to celebrate not just the author, but the publisher, the marketing team, the graphic designer, your agent, all those people get to then join in on the celebration of the work and bring visibility to it.

Travis Alabanza on winning a 2023 Somerset Maugham award.


Event photographs © Adrian Pope.


Upcoming SoA Awards events

No posts

31 August 2023

Nine annual prizes open for submissions

29 June 2023

Nicola Griffith wins the inaugural ADCI Literary Prize. Jay Gao and Louise Kennedy are among over 30 winners at this year’s SoA Awards

28 June 2023

We caught up with 2021 Eric Gregory Award winner Milena Williamson to discuss her experience of winning for an unpublished manuscript
Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Diane M Dickson
Diane M Dickson
1 July 2023 09:36

I wasn’t able to attend, not even on line so thank you for this opportunity to see it all in retrospect.

We'd love to hear from you. Please comment.x