clapperboard, storyboard on wood
Photograph © Saikorn
Creators of digital, broadcast, AV and theatre

The Scriptwriters Group (SWG) is a community of scriptwriters and broadcasters. It represents writers and makers across digital, broadcast, AV and theatre.

We support members and associates by providing professional, individual advice, negotiating collective minimum terms agreements with organisations such the BBC, and lobby on policy and legislation to promote the interests and protect the rights of scriptwriters.

In addition, we manage a series of seminars, panel discussions and ‘in conversation’ style events throughout the year, on matters of concern and interest to members working across these industry sectors. We also publish interviews and develop resources for publication on the SoA website and via our quarterly journal, The Author.

The Group is made up of an elected committee and the Group Chair is Barney Norris. Whilst the committee directs the work of the group, the day-to-day administration is handled by Co-Administrators Sophia Jackson and Theo Jones. Contact either Sophia or Theo with any scriptwriting-related topics, concerns or suggestions that you might wish to raise with the committee.

Support and advice

We support scriptwriters on their individual contract negotiations through the SoA’s one-to-one contract advisory service, and sit on the BBC Radio Forum where we negotiate amends to the minimum term agreement that underpins the commission audio drama scripts by the BBC, including most recently for new-make podcasts.

We also negotiate with the BBC for the use of previously published material on their services, and best practice codes with industry partners: we have recently agreed a series of guidelines with PACT (the association of independent TV producers) for the involvement of expert contributors and their research in factual programming, and are a signatory to the BFI/BAFTA’s Bullying and Harassment Principles and Guidelines.

Remember, for any queries that require immediate or specialist advice, contact our advisors on [email protected], or call 020 3880 2230.

Audio Drama Awards

We promote the best in audio drama by administering the Imison Award for debut audio writing, which was won by Children’s Laureate of Wales, Connor Allen in 2023. We also co-administer the Tinniswood Award with the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, won most recently by Anita Sullivan.

Social media and newsletter

We run a private Facebook discussion group for SWG members to share information, advice, and swap tips and ideas related to scriptwriting. We also run a quarterly newsletter with updates for Group members. Contact Sophia or Theo if you would like to be added to our mailing list.