Audio Drama

We are proud to award two of the UK’s premier prizes for audio drama writing. Presented annually at the BBC Audio Drama Awards, our prizes celebrate new talent and outstanding achievement in audio drama.

  • The Imison Award (£3,000) is given annually to the best audio drama script by a writer new to the medium.
  • The Tinniswood Award (£3,000) honours the best original audio drama script of the year.

The 2020 shortlists

Congratulations to this year’s shortisted writers. Click here for the 2020 Tinniswood Award shortlist and here for the 2020 Imison Award shortlist. The winners will be announced on Sunday 2 February 2020 at the BBC Audio Drama Awards.

The 2019 winners

Congratulations to the 2019 winners: Lulu Raczka won the 2019 Imison Award with her script Of a Lifetime whilst the 2019 Tinniswood Award was presented to Oliver Emanuel for When the Pips Stop.The prizes were awarded on 3 February 2019 by audio-dramatist, playwright and screenwriter Sarah Woods.

Entry to the 2020 awards are now closed.

With thanks to

We are grateful for the support of the Peggy Ramsay Foundation (Imison), the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (Tinniswood), and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (Tinniswood):