Tinniswood Award 2017

The Tinniswood Award is presented annually to the best original audio drama script. Judges were Nicholas McInerny, Shelley Silas and Tim Stimpson. 

Read more about the 2017 shortlist

Produced by Nicolas Jackson, Afonica, 84’, BBC Radio 3

As a ghost story it drew on many of the filmic and literary tropes of the genre, but nonetheless created a unique sonic journey that felt entirely suited to the medium. Masterfully constructed, the tone, sounds and melodies leapt off every single page. It will haunt our imaginations for a long time.

Read the script 

A HISTORY OF PAPER by Oliver Emanuel
Directed by Kirsty Williams, BBC Radio Drama Glasgow, 43’, BBC Radio 4          

This was a play written in the form of a scrapbook that dared to put one of the most seismic events of recent history (9/11) at its heart, but never allowed it to overwhelm the highly personal and beautifully drawn love story. As such it was a refreshingly unfamiliar take on the familiar themes of love, loss and memory.

Read the script 

COMMENT IS FREE by James Fritz
Produced by Becky Ripley,  BBC Radio & Music Bristol, 45’, BBC Radio 4

In the wake of the murder of Jo Cox, this diamond sharp exploration of the current state of public debate couldn’t have been more prescient. Acutely observed and not without humour, we particularly admired how the scale of its construction combined with the efficiency of its storytelling. A brave and provocative Afternoon Play.



The Tinniswood Award was established by the  Society of Authors and Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to perpetuate the memory of Peter Tinniswood as well as to celebrate and encourage high standards in radio drama. Previous winners include Stephen Wyatt, Murray Gold, Morwenna Banks, Julian Simpson and Christopher William Hill.