ALCS Educational Writers’ Award

The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society Award for Educational Writers is awarded to an outstanding example of traditionally published non-fiction that stimulates and enhances learning. Total prize money £2,000.

The winner of the 2021 ALCS Educational Writers’ Award was Sometimes I feel by Sarah Maycock

The 2021 ALCS Educational Writers Award Short list

  • Runner up– Cerrie Burnel for I am not a Label (The Quarto Group)
  • Stefanie Posavec and Miriam Quick for I am a Book, I am a portal to the Universe (Penguin Random House UK, Particular Books)
  • Neal Layton for A Climate In Chaos (Hachette Children’s Group – Imprint : Wren & Rook)
  • Chris Hoy for Be Amazing (Walker Books)

With thanks to the judges:  Trish Cooke, Hazel Forbes and Katie Purdy.

The 2021 Prize

Entry is now closed.

Important Information

  • The work to be a single-volume, non-fiction (with or without illustrations), of genuine merit, for the 5-11 age group.
  • The work to have been first published in the UK, in the English language.
  • The work to have been published within the previous two calendar years, i.e. 2019 and 2020

The winner of the 2020 ALCS Educational Writers’ Award was Black History Matters: The Story of Black History, From African Kingdoms to Black Lives Matter.

Written by acclaimed Black historian, Robin Walker, the 2020 judges praised this outstanding book which provides a timely introduction both to Black history and the Black Lives Matter movement:

“This accessible, comprehensive and inspiring book provides a balanced and timely introduction, both to Black history and to the BLM (Black Lives Matter) movement. It’s an excellent classroom resource that will be used time and time again by teachers.”

The 2020 judges were children’s author, Bali Rai; school librarian, Liz Annetts; and secondary school teacher, Charlotte Baggley.