Betty Trask Prize & Awards

Betty Trask left a bequest to the Society of Authors in 1983 to fund prizes for first novels written by authors under the age of 35 in a traditional or romantic, but not experimental, style.

2020 Betty Trask Prize Winner
Kathryn Hind for Hitch (Hamish Hamilton)

Betty Trask Award Winners

  • Stacey Halls for The Familiars (Zaffre, Bonnier Books UK)
  • Isabella Hammad for The Parisian (Jonathan Cape, Vintage)
  • Okeychukwu Nzelu for The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney (Dialogue Books)

Entry to the 2021 Prize is now closed 

Important information for the 2021 prize. 

  • Applicants must be under the age of 35 on 31 December 2020
  • Applicants must be resident in Great Britain and Northern Ireland of the Commonwealth for three years prior to the date of submission for the award, or a British National
  • Applicants must not have had any other novel published
  • Submissions must be in English and must not be a translation
  • Submissions must be of a romantic or traditional nature (i.e. not experimental)
  • Submissions must have been first published in 2020, or be unpublished
  • If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted for the Betty Trask Prize and Awards

Charity number 289519