Travelling Scholarships

Joanne Harris (left) and Lemn Sissay (right) with 2022 Travelling Scholarships winners Alice Albinia, Ayisha Malik, Maame Blue, Ben Judah and Dylan Moore at Southwark Cathedral (photograph © Adrian Pope)
Joanne Harris (left) and Lemn Sissay (right) with 2022 Travelling Scholarships winners Alice Albinia, Ayisha Malik, Maame Blue, Ben Judah and Dylan Moore at Southwark Cathedral (photograph © Adrian Pope)
Enabling writers to keep in touch with their colleagues abroad

The Travelling Scholarships were established in 1944 to enable British creative writers to keep in touch with their colleagues abroad. As directed by the anonymous founder of the trust, the Scholarships are administered by the SoA and recipients are nominated by the assessors for the year. Applications for the awards are not accepted.

For any queries relating to the prize please contact [email protected]

Charity number 212407

Tahmima Anam

(c)Abeer Y Hoque

Tahmima Anam’s first novel, A Golden Age, won the Commonwealth Writers Prize and went on to be translated into 27 languages. It was followed by The Good Muslim and The Bones of Grace. She is the recipient of an O. Henry Award and has been named one of Granta’s best young British novelists. She was a contributing opinion writer for the New York Times and was recently elected as a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, she attended Mount Holyoke College and Harvard University and now lives in London, where she is on the board of ROLI, a music tech company founded by her husband.

Aida Edemariam

Aida Edemariam. London. Photograph by David Levene 24/5/17

(c) Graeme Robertson

Aida Edemariam’s first book, The Wife’s Tale, was a finalist for a Governor General’s Literary Award and won both a Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award and the 2019 Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize. She is also a senior feature writer and editor at the Guardian.

Gabriel Gbadamosi

(c) John Folley

Gabriel Gbadamosi is an Irish and Nigerian poet, playwright and critic. His London novel Vauxhall (Telegram, 2013) won the Tibor Jones Pageturner Prize and Best International Novel at the Sharjah Book Fair. He was AHRC Creative and Performing Arts Fellow at the Pinter Centre, Goldsmiths in European and African performance; a Judith E. Wilson Fellow for creative writing at Cambridge University; and Writer in Residence at the Manchester Royal Exchange. Plays include Stop and Search (Arcola Theatre), Hotel Orpheu (Schaubühne, Berlin), and for radio The Long, Hot Summer of ’76 (BBC Radio 3) which won the Richard Imison Award. He presented BBC Radio 3’s arts and ideas programme Night Waves and is the founding editor of WritersMosaic. 

Anne McElvoy

Anne McElvoy is Executive Editor of the Economist, host of the interview podcast “The Economist Asks” and a frequent BBC presenter on Radio 4. She also writes a weekly politics column for the Evening Standard and on theatre for “The Critic”. Anne has been a foreign correspondent in Berlin, the Balkans and Moscow. She is a member of the education committee of the Royal Opera House and on the education board of the World Economic Forum at Davos. Her books are a history of East Germany, “The Saddled Cow” and “Man Without a Face”, co-authored with Markus Wolf. Her languages are German, Russian and French.

Abir Mukherjee

Abir Mukherjee is the Times bestselling author of the Wyndham & Banerjee series of crime novels set in Raj-era India which have sold over 250,000 copies and been translated into 15 languages. His books have won numerous awards including the CWA Dagger for best Historical Novel, the Prix du Polar Européen, the Wilbur Smith Award for Adventure Writing and the Amazon Publishing Readers Award for E-book for the Year. 
Alongside fellow author, Vaseem Khan, he also hosts the popular Red Hot Chilli Writers podcast, where every fortnight, joined by special guests from the media and literature, he takes a wry look at the world of books, writing, and the creative arts, tackling everything from bestsellers to pop culture.

(Rosddiana Ciaravolo)

2022 Winners: Linda Brogan, Maame Blue, Dylan Moore, Ayisha Malik, Ben Judah and Alice Albinia. Each Received £1,333.33

2021 Winners: Clare Pollard, Guy Gunaratne, Yara Rodrigues Fowler, Tom Stevenson and Lola Okolosie. Each received £1,600

2020 Winners: Luke Brown, Inua Ellams, Georgina Lawton, Neil Rollinson, and Ahdaf Soueif. Each received £1,600.

2019 Winners: Kathryn Hughes, Damian Le Bas, Nadifa Mohamed, Johny Pitts, and Gwendoline Riley. Each received £1,600.

2018 Winners: Jenn AshworthTash AwJessie GreengrassJames Harpur, and Sudhir Hazareesingh. Each received £1,575.

2017 Winners: Amy LiptrotRoss Raisin, and James Sheard.  Each received £2,500.

2016 Winners: Jamie BartlettDavid CranePeter Oswald, and David Szalay. Each recieved £1,750.

Past winners of the awards have included:

C. Day Lewis, V.S. Pritchett, William Samson, Dylan Thomas, Laurie Lee, William Golding, Margaret Drabble, Stevie Smith, Naomi Lewis, Ronald Blythe, William Trevor, Maureen Duffy, Edward Blishen, Fay Weldon, Hilary Spurling, A.L. Barker, Sybille Bedford, Adrian Mitchell, Robert Nye, Jenny Diski, Robert Macfarlane and Helen Simpson.