French – Scott Moncrieff Prize

The Scott Moncrieff Prize is an annual award of £1,000 for translations into English of full length French works of literary merit and general interest.

Established in 1965, and named after the celebrated translator of Proust’s Á la Recherche du Temps Perdu, the prize is generously sponsored by the Institut français du Royaume-Uni.  

The Scott Moncrieff 2020 winner was Aneesa Abbas Higgins for her translation of A Girl Called Eel by Ali Zamir (Jacarada Books)

The runner-up was Frank Wynne for his translation of Animalia by Jean-Baptiste del Amo (Fitzcarraldo Editions)

The 2021 Prize is now open and will close for submissions on
Sunday 28 February 2021, 5pm (GMT)

Enter Now

  • Entries must be translations from French into English.
  • The original must have been published within the last 150 years.
  • Entries must have been published in 2020.
  • Full Terms and Conditions are listed at the start of the entry form.
  • Presented at a ceremony in 2022.