Tom Holland

Tom Holland is a British writer of medieval and classical history. His book Rubicon: the Triumph and Tragedy of the Roman Republic was awarded the Hessell-Tiltman Prize for History and shortlisted for the Samuel Johnson Prize. He has served as Chair of the Management Committee and on the committee of the Classical Association.

Michael Holroyd

Michael Holroyd, CBE, CLit is an English biographer and served as Chair of the Management Committee from 1973 to 1983, as well as president of the RSL from 2003 to 2008. In 1985 he served three years as president of the English branch of PEN and in 2006 was awarded the Golden PEN Award. He has…

William Horwood

William Horwood has written over twenty novels including his memoir, The Boy with No Shoes, and sequels to The Wind in the Willows series. He served on the Management Committee from 2013 to 2016.

Shirley Hughes

Shirley Hughes, OBE is a writer and illustrator. She has written over fifty books including Dogger and has won two Kate Greenaway Medals for British children’s book illustration. In 1999 she was awarded an OBE and in 2015 she won the inaugural Booktrust Lifetime Achievement Award. She is a Fellow of the RSL.

Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and moved to Britain at the age of five. His eight works of fiction have earned him many awards and honours around the world, including the Nobel Prize in Literature (2017) and the Booker Prize (1989). His work has been translated into over fifty languages. The Remains of…

Steve Jones

Steve Jones, FRS is a geneticist, regular columnist for the Daily Telegraph and award-winning author of books on the subject of evolution, such as The Language of the Genes. In 1996 he was awarded the Royal Society Michael Faraday Prize, and in 2011 became President of The Association for Science Education.

Penelope Lively

Penelope Lively, DBE, FRSL has written fiction for both children and adults. She won the Booker Prize with her novel Moon Tiger and the Carnegie Medal with The Ghost of Thomas Kempe. She has also been shortlisted for the Costa Prize and has won the Whitbread Award. She is a Fellow of the RSL, served for six years on…

David Lodge

David Lodge, CBE is an author and literary critic. He has twice been shortlisted for the Booker Prize, has won the Hawthornden Prize for his book Changing Places and has written several screenplays and stage plays. In 1997 he was made a Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture and in 1998…

Hilary Mantel

Hilary Mantel, DBE, FRSL has won the Booker Prize twice for her books Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies. She has also received the Hawthornden Prize, Costa Book of the Year award, Walter Scott prize and David Cohen award. In 2006 she was appointed CBE and in 2014 was appointed DBE. She has served on the Management Committee.

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan, CBE, FRSA, FRSL is a novelist and screenwriter whose work has been awarded the SoA’s Somerset Maugham Award, Whitbread Novel Award and been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize six times. In 1998 he won the Booker prize for his novel Amsterdam. In 2000 he was appointed CBE.

Roger McGough

Roger McGough, CBE, FRSL is a poet, broadcaster, children’s author and playwright, winning critical acclaim for his 1967 anthology The Mersey Sound. He has won the SoA’s Cholmondeley Award and was appointed OBE in 1997 and CBE in 2004. He presents BBC Radio 4’s Poetry Please. He is a Fellow of the RSL and President of the Poetry…